Skip to main content

What <digital> spaces do we live in?

Cyber<>Spaces stands for the University's vision to become one of the leading European centres of interdisciplinary basic research on the societal implications of digitalisation by 2028. Researchers from all faculties and disciplines are driving this goal forward.

The thematic focus on Digitalisation, Networked Society and (Internet) Cultures creates fruitful inter-faculty links at the University of Passau, spanning linguistics and cultural studies, business, economics, computer science, law and psychology. The involved researchers are working on topics such as changes in how we communicate and the phenomenon of filter bubbles in digital channels, data-driven platform economies and their ramifications for established organisations and regulatory policy, or the risks and opportunities of digitalisation for developing countries.

Projects related to guiding theme 'Digitalisation'

Our Strengths

<>Profile of the University of Passau. Since 2011 the University of Passau has been exploring the societal effects of digitalisation across all faculties. Examples of this are the Technik Plus development initiative, the federally funded SKILL project (webpage in German) and the establishment of the Passau Centre for e-Humanities, which is also funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Based on the fruitful co-operation in these, and many other, projects, scholars and scientists at Passau developed the thematic focus on Digitalisation, Networked Society and (Internet) Cultures. Building on past successes and strong performances in recent THE worldwide university rankings, including the THE Young Universities Rankings (of universities under 50), the University strives to become one of the leading European centres of interdisciplinary basic research on the societal implications of digitalisation by its 50th anniversary in 2028.

Playing the video will send your IP address to an external server.

Show video
/uploads/tx_upatheme/vimeo-8453b81b67811ec6cb7945133a2e2b5a4da28b3e.jpg

<>International and interdisciplinary. Our researchers have access to the resources of the Passau International Centre for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies (PICAIS), our central scholarly unit under the roof of the Researcher and ECR Support Services Division. PICAIS provides support for interdisciplinary project and conference ideas, integrating international visiting researchers into the research landscape at the University of Passau.

<>Excellent conditions for early career researchers. The University considers it an important building block for research excellence to afford the best possible support to its early career researchers. This is shown in the fact that our researchers are able to attract special funding lines and engage in top-rate research. Examples of this are the DFG Research Training Groups 2720 'Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)' and 1681 'Privacy and Digitalisation', the internationally-focused Junior Research Groups, and two certificate programmes in Digital Technology and Entrepreneurship, which are also funded by the Bavarian Ministry of Science through its digital innovation hub.

Research Insights

Günther Jauch, Moderator der beliebten RTL-Quiz-Sendung "Wer wird Millionär?". Foto: RTL / Stefan Gregorowius

Using data from the German version of the quiz show "Who wants to be a millionaire?", Professor Carolin Häussler and Dr. Sabrina Vieth have been investigating when people in the digital age resort to which problem-solving strategies.

Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer (links) und Prof. Dr. Andreas König im Gespräch.

Interdisciplinary, international, innovative: In their How-to-Wiwi podcast, Professor Jan Krämer and Professor Andreas König explain what distinguishes doctoral studies in the new DFG Research Training Group from other qualification concepts.

Interdisziplinäres Organisations-Team der DPE Ringvorlesung an der Universität Passau

The Research Training Group "Digital Platform Ecosystems" will be the University’s pivotal hub for leading-edge, international, and interdisciplinary research and advanced academic qualifications around a central phenomenon of the digital economy.

Topics explored by our early career researchers

Lviv, Stadt im Westen der Ukraine, nahe der polnischen Grenze. Foto: Adobe Stock

In the Ukrainian city of Lviv, sirens are howling outside while Oleksandr Rudyak sits inside, conferencing online with Professor Andreas König about his mater's thesis. And both have an idea.

Illustration einer Bankberaterin, die auf einem Bürostuhl sitzt. Die Zeichnung umgibt ein gelber und roter Schimmer, der die berufliche Identität der Frau veranschaulichen soll. Illustration: Isabel Groll

The paper “What Do I Do in a World of Artificial Intelligence?” has received the Best Paper Honorable Mention Award from the Journal of Association for Information Systems.

Schwarz-Weißes synthetisches Tiefenbild, das mit der in Benjamin Planches Diplomarbeit beschriebenen Methode (DepthSynth) erstellt wurde

For his outstanding doctoral thesis on CAD-based visual recognition, computer scientist Dr. Benjamin Planche has been awarded the Dissertation Award 2022 by the Franco-German University (FGU).

16
international research partners

76
scholars with an interdisciplinary mindset

111
rooms at the University of Passau and any number of digital spaces

Professor Stefan Bauernschuster

researches empirical evaluation of political measures

How do political measures influence decisions made by individuals and families?

How do political measures influence decisions made by individuals and families?

Professor Stefan Bauernschuster has held the Chair of Public Economics of the University of Passau since 2013. Moreover, he is a research professor at the ifo Institute in Munich, CESifo Affiliate and a member of the Social Policy Committee of the German Economic Association. He is also one of the principal investigators of the DFG Research Training Group 2720.

Prof. Dr. Michael Grimm, Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Development Economics

Professor Michael Grimm

studies technological change in developing countries, among other topics

What are the measures that enable developing countries to participate in global market processes?

What are the measures that enable developing countries to participate in global market processes?

Professor Michael Grimm has held the Chair of Development Economics of the University of Passau since 2012. He is also one of the Principal Investigators of the DFG Research Training Group 2720 "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)". Prior to this, he held the posts of Professor of Applied Development Economics at Erasmus University Rotterdam, Visiting Professor at Paris School of Economics and Advisor for the World Bank in Washington, D.C. (United States).

Professor Rüdiger Harnisch

Professor Rüdiger Harnisch

researches communication spaces

Which spaces do we use to communicate online and offline?

Which spaces do we use to communicate online and offline?

Professor Rüdiger Harnisch holds the Chair of German Language of the University of Passau. He is a member of two project advisory boards of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities and is a former member of the DFG Review Board for Linguistics.

Prof. Dr. Carolin Häussler

Professor Carolin Häussler

researches co-operation and innovation

How can we use and increase the innovative strength of fluid organisations?

How can we use and increase the innovative strength of fluid organisations?

Professor Carolin Haeussler has held the Chair of Organisation, Technology Management and Entrepreneurship since 2011 and has been bringing researchers from all over the world to Passau with the International Centre for Economics and Business Studies. She is also one of the principal investigators of the DFG Research Training Group 2720 "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)".

Professor Harry Haupt

Professor Harry Haupt

researches data complexity

What modern statistical methods are there to analyse complex data?

What modern statistical methods are there to analyse complex data?

Professor Harry Haupt has held the Chair of Statistics of the University of Passau since 2012; since 2014, he has held the post of Vice President for Research and the Advancement of Early Career Researchers.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser

Professor Stefan Katzenbeisser

researches cyber security and technical data protection

How can critical infrastructures in a networked world be protected against cyber attacks?

How can critical infrastructures in a networked world be protected against cyber attacks?

Professor Stefan Katzenbeisser holds the Chair of Computer Engineering at the University of Passau. He conducts research on cyber security in embedded systems, on secure critical infrastructures and on technical data protection. He is spokesperson of the new research cluster "ForDaySec - Security in everyday digitalisation", which is funded by the Bavarian Science Ministry and where researchers from computer science, law and sociology have come together to develop new types of technical procedures to provide security in day-to-day digital life. Besides participating in research projects on secure mobility, he is also involved in the research initiative "6G Research and Innovation Cluster (6G-RIC)" which is coordinated by Fraunhofer HHI and aims to develop mobile telecommunication systems of the sixth generation by pushing back the limits of technology.

Prof. Dr. Andreas König

Professor Andreas König

researches organisational change and executives’ personalities and communications

How do established organisations and their leaders respond to the discontinuities that emerge with digitalisation?

How do established organisations and their leaders respond to the discontinuities that emerge with digitalisation?

Professor Andreas König holds the Chair of Strategic Management, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship and is deputy spokesperson of the DFG Research Training Group 2720: "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)" at the University of Passau. His research output is published in leading international journals such as Administrative Science Quarterly, the Academy of Management Review and Research Policy.

Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer

Professor Jan Krämer

researches the regulation of the Platform Economy

What conditions are required on the internet to create competition and innovation?

What conditions are required on the internet to create competition and innovation?

Professor Jan Krämer holds the Chair of Internet and Telecommunications Business and is spokesperson of the DFG Research Training Group 2720: "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)" at the University of Passau. He is a Research Fellow at the Centre on Regulation in Europe (CERRE), a Brussels-based think tank.

Professor Hans Krah

Professor Hans Krah

researches media semiotics

How credible is the worldview created by the digital and analogue media?

How credible is the worldview created by the digital and analogue media?

Professor Hans Krah holds the Chair of German Literature and Film at the University of Passau. He generates ideas for the DFG-funded Research Training Group 1681/2 ‘Privacy and Digitalisation’, which is currently in its second funding term.

Prof. Dr. Kai von Lewinski

Professor Kai von Lewinski

researches the collision of jurisdictions in information exchange

What does the internet mean for geographically limited legal systems?

What does the internet mean for geographically limited legal systems?

Kai von Lewinski is Professor of Public Law, Media Law and Information Law at the University of Passau and chairs the DFG-funded Research Training Group 1681/2 ‘Privacy and Digitalisation’. Prior to this, he was the Academic Director of the Foundation for Data Protection in Leipzig.

Prof. Dr. Susanne Mayr

Professor Susanne Mayr

researches psychology and human-machine interaction

How does being connected online affect us as humans?

How does being connected online affect us as humans?

Professor Susanne Mayr has held the Chair of Psychology and Human–Machine Interaction of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities since 2015.

Professor Martina Padmanabhan

researches sustainable institutions

What opportunities and problems does digitalisation pose for the disadvantaged?

What opportunities and problems does digitalisation pose for the disadvantaged?

Professor Martina Padmanabhan has held the Chair of Comparative Development and Cultural Studies with a focus on Southeast Asia since 2012, where she implements new methodologies for interdiciplinarity.

Professor Ursula Reutner

Professor Ursula Reutner

researches cultural patterns

Where will digitalisation take us: towards a unified culture or ever greater diversity?

Where will digitalisation take us: towards a unified culture or ever greater diversity?

Professor Ursula Reutner has held the Chair of Romance Languages and Cultures of the University of Passau since 2009; since 2014 she has held the post of Vice President for International Relations.

Prof. Dr. Hannah Schmid-Petri, Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Wissenschaftskommunikation an der Universität Passau.

Professor Hannah Schmid-Petri

researches public debates – both online and off.

How are digitalisation issues publicly discussed and what consequences does that have for political processes?

How are digitalisation issues publicly discussed and what consequences does that have for political processes?

Professor Hannah Schmid-Petri is the holder of the Chair of Science Communication at the University of Passau and leads the Fraunhofer 'Science Communication' research group, which is based at the Fraunhofer Cluster of Excellence 'Integrated Energy Systems' CINES. She is also one of the principal investigators of the DFG Research Training Group 2720. She analyses public discussions on political issues such as digitalisation and climate change.

Professor Jan Schumann

Professor Jan Hendrik Schumann

researches consumer behavior in B2C relationships

How does it affect people when firms pass on their data?

How does it affect people when firms pass on their data?

Professor Jan Hendrik Schumann has held the Chair of Marketing and Innovation of the University of Passau since 2012. He is also one of the principal investigators of the DFG Research Training Group 2720. Since July 2013, he has also worked a director of the Institute of Market and Economic Research.

Professor Daniela Wawra

Professor Daniela Wawra

conducts sociolinguistic and cross-cultural research

How do culture and language shape analogue and digital interactions?

How do culture and language shape analogue and digital interactions?

Professor Daniela Wawra has held the Chair of English Language and Culture of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities since 2010. From 2018 to 2020 she was Vice President for Study, Teaching and Internationalisation at the University of Passau. 

Professor Thomas Widjaja

Professor Thomas Widjaja

researches on IT architecture management, data-based business models, and privacy

What changes when companies develop new services using customer data?

What changes when companies develop new services using customer data?

Professor Thomas Widjaja has held the Chair of Business Information Systems since 2016. He is also one of the principal investigators of the DFG Research Training Group 2720. Previously, he gained his doctoral and postdoctoral degrees at TU Darmstadt.

Playing the video will send your IP address to an external server.

Show video

Zum Inhalt springen

In welchen <digitalen> Räumen leben wir?

Cyber<>Spaces steht für die Vision der Universität Passau, bis 2028 zu einem der führenden Zentren in Europa für interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung zu den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung zu werden. Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Fakultäten und Disziplinen treiben dieses Ziel voran.

Der Themenschwerpunkt „Digitalisierung, vernetzte Gesellschaft und (Internet)Kulturen“ schafft fakultätsübergreifend Brücken an der Universität Passau:  von den Sprach- und Kultur- über die Wirtschaftswissenschaften und die Informatik bis hin zu den Rechtswissenschaften und zur Psychologie. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher beschäftigen sich dabei mit Themen wie der veränderten Kommunikation und Filter-Blasen in digitalen Kanälen, den Implikationen datengetriebener Plattform-Ökonomien für etablierte Organisationen und Regulierung sowie den Chancen und Risiken von Digitalisierung in Entwicklungsländern.

Projekte zum Schwerpunkt Digitalisierung

Unsere Stärken

<>Profil der Universität Passau. Seit 2011 setzt sich die Universität Passau fakultätsübergreifend mit den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung auseinander. Beispiele dafür sind das Ausbauprogramm Technik Plus, das BMBF-Projekt SKILL sowie die durch das BMBF geförderte Etablierung des Passauer Zentrums für e-Humanities. Aufgrund der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit in diesen und noch vielen weiteren Projekten entwickelten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Universität Passau den Schwerpunkt „Digitalisierung, vernetzte Gesellschaft und (Internet)Kulturen“. Aufbauend auf den vergangenen Erfolgen und der ausgezeichneten Positionierung der Universität im THE Ranking als eine der besten jungen Universitäten (unter 50 Jahren) weltweit strebt sie an, zum 50. Geburtstag im Jahr 2028 zu einem der führenden Zentren in Europa für interdisziplinäre Grundlagenforschung zu den gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung zu werden.

Beim Anzeigen des Videos wird Ihre IP-Adresse an einen externen Server (Vimeo.com) gesendet.

Video anzeigen
/uploads/tx_upatheme/vimeo-8453b81b67811ec6cb7945133a2e2b5a4da28b3e.jpg

<>International und interdisziplinär. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher können auf die Ressourcen des Passau International Centre for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies (PICAIS) zugreifen, einer zentralen wissenschaftlichen Einrichtung, angesiedelt unter dem Dach der Forschungs- und Nachwuchsförderung. Das Zentrum unterstützt interdisziplinäre Projekt- und Veranstaltungsideen und integriert internationale Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler in die Wissenschaftslandschaft der Universität Passau.

<>Exzellente Bedingungen für den Nachwuchs. Die Universität Passau sieht in der hervorragenden Förderung ihres wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses einen wichtigen Baustein für Exzellenz in der Forschung. Das zeigt sich an der erfolgreichen Einwerbung besonderer Fördermittel und deren Umsetzung. Beispiele dafür sind die DFG-Graduiertenkollege 2720 "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)" und 1681 „Privatheit und Digitalisierung“, interdisziplinär positionierte Nachwuchsforschungsgruppen sowie die Einrichtung zweier Zertifikatsstudienprogramme im Bereich "Digital Technology and Entrepreneurship", ebenfalls  gefördert vom Bayerischen Wissenschaftsministerium.

Einblicke in die Forschung

Übergabe des Jahresgutachtens der EFI-Kommission an Bundesministerin Bettina Stark-Watzinger: Prof. Dr. Till Requate (von links), Prof. Dr. Irene Bertschek (zugeschaltet), Prof. Dr. Katharina Hölzle (stv. Vorsitzende), Prof. Dr. Uwe Cantner (Vorsitzender), Bundesministerin Bettina Stark-Watzinger, Prof. Dr. Holger Bonin, Prof. Dr. Carolin Häussler. BMBF/Hans-Joachim Rickel

EFI-Kommission übergibt Gutachten an Forschungsministerin Stark-Watzinger: Innovationsforscherin Prof. Dr. Häussler mahnt bei den digitalen Schlüsseltechnologien in Deutschland rasches und kluges politisches Handeln an. Mit Video-Interview

Günther Jauch, Moderator der beliebten RTL-Quiz-Sendung "Wer wird Millionär?". Foto: RTL / Stefan Gregorowius

Prof. Dr. Carolin Häussler hat gemeinsam mit Dr. Sabrina Vieth untersucht, wann Menschen im digitalen Zeitalter zu welchen Problemlösungsstrategien greifen – und zwar anhand von Daten der Quiz-Sendung „Wer wird Millionär?“.

Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer (links) und Prof. Dr. Andreas König im Gespräch.

Interdisziplinär, international, innovativ: Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer und Prof. Dr. Andreas König erklären im How-to-Wiwi-Podcast, was die Doktorand*innenausbildung im neuen DFG-Graduiertenkolleg von anderen Qualifikationskonzepten abhebt.

Themen unseres Nachwuchses

Lviv, Stadt im Westen der Ukraine, nahe der polnischen Grenze. Foto: Adobe Stock

Draußen im ukrainischen Lviv heulen die Sirenen, drinnen sitzt Oleksandr Rudyak in einer Online-Besprechung zu seiner Masterarbeit mit Professor Andreas König. Und beide haben eine Idee.

Illustration einer Bankberaterin, die auf einem Bürostuhl sitzt. Die Zeichnung umgibt ein gelber und roter Schimmer, der die berufliche Identität der Frau veranschaulichen soll. Illustration: Isabel Groll

Best Paper Honorable Mention Award: Ein Team aus Passau und Bayreuth hat untersucht, was es mit Beschäftigten macht, wenn sie wesentliche Entscheidungen in ihrer Tätigkeit nicht mehr selbst treffen können, weil diese ein KI-System übernimmt.

Schwarz-Weißes synthetisches Tiefenbild, das mit der in Benjamin Planches Diplomarbeit beschriebenen Methode (DepthSynth) erstellt wurde

Der Informatiker Dr. Benjamin Planche entwickelt in seiner Doktorarbeit neue Methoden zur Gewinnung von synthetischen Bilddaten. Dafür hat er den Dissertationspreis 2022 der Deutsch‐Französischen Hochschule (DFH) erhalten.

16
Internationale Forschungspartnerinnen und -partner

76
Interdisziplinär denkende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler

111
Räume an der Universität Passau und beliebig viele digitale

Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster

forscht zu empirischer Evaluation politischer Maßnahmen

Wie beeinflussen politische Maßnahmen Entscheidungen von Individuen und Familien?

Wie beeinflussen politische Maßnahmen Entscheidungen von Individuen und Familien?

Prof. Dr. Stefan Bauernschuster ist seit 2013 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Public Economics an der Universität Passau sowie Projektleiter im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720. Er ist Forschungsprofessor am ifo Institut München, Research Fellow des CESifo Netzwerks, Research Fellow des IZA Bonn und Mitglied des Ausschusses für Sozialpolitik beim Verein für Socialpolitik.

Prof. Dr. Michael Grimm, Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Development Economics

Prof. Dr. Michael Grimm

forscht unter anderem zum technologischen Wandel in Entwicklungsländern

Welche Maßnahmen ermöglichen Entwicklungsländern Teilhabe an größeren internationalen Marktprozessen?

Welche Maßnahmen ermöglichen Entwicklungsländern Teilhabe an größeren internationalen Marktprozessen?

Prof. Dr. Michael Grimm ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Development Economics an der Universität Passau und Dekan der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät sowie Projektleiter im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720. Darüber hinaus ist er Vorsitzender des Entwicklungsökonomischen Ausschusses des Vereins für Socialpolitik. Zuvor arbeitete der Ökonom unter anderem als  Professor für Applied Development Economics an der Erasmus Universität Rotterdam, als Gastprofessor an der Paris School of Economics sowie als Berater bei der Weltbank in Washington D.C., USA.

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Harnisch

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Harnisch

forscht zu Räumen der Kommunikation

In welchen Räumen kommunizieren wir online und offline?

In welchen Räumen kommunizieren wir online und offline?

Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Harnisch ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Deutsche Sprachwissenschaft an der Universität Passau. Er ist Mitglied zweier Projektbeiräte der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. 

Prof. Dr. Carolin Häussler

Prof. Dr. Carolin Häussler

forscht zu Zusammenarbeit und Innovation

Wie können wir die Innovationskraft fluider Organisationen nutzen und stärken?

Wie können wir die Innovationskraft fluider Organisationen nutzen und stärken?

Prof. Dr. Carolin Häussler ist seit 2011 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Organisation, Technologiemanagement und Entrepreneurship und DFG-Vertrauensdozentin an der Universität Passau. Sie ist außerdem Projektleiterin im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720: "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)" an der Universität Passau. Sie ist Mitglied der Expertenkommission Forschung und Innovation der Bundesregierung. Mit dem International Center for Economics and Business Studies lockt sie Forscherinnen und Forscher aus aller Welt nach Passau.

Prof. Dr. Harry Haupt

Prof. Dr. Harry Haupt

forscht zu Datenkomplexität

Welche Methoden stellt die moderne Statistik zur Analyse komplexer Daten bereit?

Welche Methoden stellt die moderne Statistik zur Analyse komplexer Daten bereit?

Prof. Dr. Harry Haupt ist seit 2012 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Statistik an der Universität Passau und seit 2014 als Vizepräsident zuständig für die Bereiche Forschung und Nachwuchsförderung.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser

Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser

forscht zu Cybersicherheit und technischem Datenschutz

Wie lassen sich kritische Infrastrukturen in einer vernetzten Welt gegen Cyber-Attacken schützen?

Wie lassen sich kritische Infrastrukturen in einer vernetzten Welt gegen Cyber-Attacken schützen?

Prof. Dr. Stefan Katzenbeisser ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Technische Informatik an der Universität Passau. Er forscht zur Cybersicherheit von eingebetteten Systemen, zu sicheren kritischen Infrastrukturen sowie zum technischen Datenschutz. Er ist Sprecher des neuen, vom Bayerischen Wissenschaftsministerium geförderten Forschungsverbunds „ForDaySec - Sicherheit in der Alltagsdigitalisierung“, in dem Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der Informatik, der Rechtswissenschaft und der Soziologie neuartige technische Verfahren für die Absicherung des digitalen Alltags erarbeiten. Darüber hinaus beteiligt er sich an der vom Fraunhofer HHI koordinierten Forschungsinitiative „6G Research and Innovation Cluster (6G-RIC)“ mit dem Ziel, Mobilfunksysteme der sechsten Generation über alle Technologiegrenzen hinweg zu entwickeln, sowie an Forschungsprojekten zur sicheren Mobilität.

Prof. Dr. Andreas König

Prof. Dr. Andreas König

forscht zu organisationalem Wandel und Kommunikation von Führungskräften

Wie reagieren etablierte Organisationen und deren Führungskräfte auf digitale Transformation?

Wie reagieren etablierte Organisationen und deren Führungskräfte auf digitale Transformation?

Prof. Dr. Andreas König ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit Schwerpunkt Strategisches Management, Innovation und Entrepreneurship sowie Sprecher des DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720: "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)" an der Universität Passau. Seine Forschungsergebnisse werden in weltweit führenden wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, darunter das Administrative Science Quarterly, der Academy of Management Review und Research Policy.

Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer

Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer

forscht zur Plattform-Ökonomie und zur Regulierung des Internets

Welche Rahmenbedingungen schaffen Wettbewerb und Innovation im Internet?

Welche Rahmenbedingungen schaffen Wettbewerb und Innovation im Internet?

Prof. Dr. Jan Krämer ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Internet- und Telekommunikationswirtschaft und Sprecher des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs 2720: "Digital Platform Ecosystems (DPE)" an der Universität Passau. Er ist zudem Joint Academic Director am „Centre on Regulation in Europe“ (CERRE), einem Think Tank mit Sitz in Brüssel. 

Prof. Dr. Hans Krah

Prof. Dr. Hans Krah

forscht zu Mediensemiotik

Wie glaubwürdig sind die Weltbilder, die digitale und analoge Medien inszenieren?

Wie glaubwürdig sind die Weltbilder, die digitale und analoge Medien inszenieren?

Prof. Dr. Hans Krah ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Neuere Deutsche Literaturwissenschaft und Mediensemiotik an der Universität Passau.

Prof. Dr. Kai von Lewinski

Prof. Dr. Kai von Lewinski

forscht zur Kollision von Rechtsräumen beim Informationsaustausch

Was bedeutet das Internet für das räumlich begrenzte Rechtssystem?

Was bedeutet das Internet für das räumlich begrenzte Rechtssystem?

Prof. Dr. Kai von Lewinski ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Öffentliches Recht, Medien- und Informationsrecht  und war Sprecher des DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 1681/2 "Privatheit und Digitalisierung" an der Universität Passau. Vor seiner Zeit in Passau war er unter anderem wissenschaftlicher Leiter der Stiftung Datenschutz in Leipzig. Am Alexander-von-Humboldt-Institut für Internet und Gesellschaft (HIIG Berlin) forschte er in einem Projekt zu „Global Privacy Governance“.

Prof. Dr. Susanne Mayr

Prof. Dr. Susanne Mayr

forscht zu Psychologie und Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion

Wie verändert sich der Mensch durch das Online-Sein?

Wie verändert sich der Mensch durch das Online-Sein?

Prof. Dr. Susanne Mayr ist seit 2015 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Psychologie mit Schwerpunkt Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Passau.

Prof. Dr. Alena Otto

Prof. Dr. Alena Otto

forscht zu datenbasierter Unternehmens- und Produktionsplanung

Wie sollen Managementstrategien im digitalen Zeitalter gestaltet werden?

Wie sollen Managementstrategien im digitalen Zeitalter gestaltet werden?

Prof. Dr. Alena Otto ist seit 2019 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit Schwerpunkt Management Science/Operations and Supply Chain Management an der Universität Passau. Vor ihrer wissenschaftlichen Karriere arbeitete sie als Strategieberaterin in der Ukraine, in Deutschland und in Russland.

Prof. Dr. Martina Padmanabhan

forscht zu nachhaltigen Institutionen

Welche Chancen und Probleme birgt Digitalisierung für Benachteiligte?

Welche Chancen und Probleme birgt Digitalisierung für Benachteiligte?

Prof. Dr. Martina Padmanabhan ist seit 2012 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Vergleichende Entwicklungs- und Kulturforschung mit Fokus auf Südostasien. Sie leitet die sozial-ökologische Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe BioDIVA am Institut für Umweltplanung der Leibniz-Universität Hannover und ist Mitglied in der Arbeitsgruppe „Nachhaltige, transformative und zirkuläre Bioökonomie“ des Deutschen Komitees für Nachhaltigkeitsforschung.

Prof. Dr. Ursula Reutner

Prof. Dr. Ursula Reutner

forscht zu kulturellen Mustern

Wohin wird uns die Digitalisierung führen - Richtung Einheitskultur oder Diversität?

Wohin wird uns die Digitalisierung führen - Richtung Einheitskultur oder Diversität?

Prof. Dr. Ursula Reutner ist seit 2009 Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Romanische Sprach- und Kulturwissenschaft an der Universität Passau und seit 2014 Vizepräsidentin für Internationale Beziehungen.

Prof. Dr. Hannah Schmid-Petri, Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Wissenschaftskommunikation an der Universität Passau.

Prof. Dr. Hannah Schmid-Petri

forscht zu öffentlichen Debatten - online wie offline

Wie werden Themen der Digitalisierung öffentlich diskutiert und welche Folgen hat das für politische Prozesse?

Wie werden Themen der Digitalisierung öffentlich diskutiert und welche Folgen hat das für politische Prozesse?

Prof. Dr. Hannah Schmid-Petri ist Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Wissenschaftskommunikation an der Universität Passau und leitet die Fraunhofer-Forschungsgruppe „Wissenschaftskommunikation“, die in dem Fraunhofer-Cluster of Excellence „Integrated Energy Systems“ CINES angesiedelt ist. Außerdem ist sie Projektleiterin im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720. Sie analysiert öffentliche Diskussionen zu politischen Themen wie beispielsweise zu Digitalisierung oder zum Klimawandel.

Professor Jan Schumann

Prof. Dr. Jan Hendrik Schumann

forscht zu Konsumentenverhalten in B2C-Beziehungen

Was macht es mit Menschen, wenn Firmen deren Daten weitergeben?

Was macht es mit Menschen, wenn Firmen deren Daten weitergeben?

Prof. Dr. Jan Hendrik Schumann ist seit 2012 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Marketing und Innovation an der Universität Passau. Außerdem ist er Projektleiter im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720. Seit Juli 2013 ist er zudem einer der Direktoren des Instituts für Markt- und Wirtschaftsforschung.

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra

forscht zur Soziolinguistik und zum Kulturvergleich

Wie formen Kultur und Sprache analoge und digitale Interaktionen?

Wie formen Kultur und Sprache analoge und digitale Interaktionen?

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wawra hat den Lehrstuhl für Englische Sprache und Kultur an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Passau inne. Von 2018 bis 2020 war sie Vizepräsidentin für das Ressort Studium, Lehre und Internationales.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Widjaja

Prof. Dr. Thomas Widjaja

forscht zu IT-Architekturmanagement, datenbasierten Geschäftsmodellen und Privatsphäre

Was verändert sich, wenn Firmen neue Dienstleistungen mit Kundendaten entwickeln?

Was verändert sich, wenn Firmen neue Dienstleistungen mit Kundendaten entwickeln?

Prof. Dr. Thomas Widjaja ist seit 2016 Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Wirtschaftsinformatik mit Schwerpunkt Betriebliche Informationssysteme an der Universität Passau. Außerdem ist er Projektleiter im DFG-Graduiertenkolleg 2720. Er promovierte und habilitierte an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt.

Beim Anzeigen des Videos wird Ihre IP-Adresse an einen externen Server (Vimeo.com) gesendet.

Video anzeigen